California DMV Hearings
Legal Representation from Our Ventura DUI Lawyer
Were you arrested for driving under the influence (DUI) in Ventura County?
In order to try and regain your license, you must request a hearing with
the department of motor vehicles (DMV) within 10 days. Most suspects are
given a notice of suspension and a temporary driver’s license during
the arrest or upon release from jail. Your license will be automatically
suspended for a minimum of four months for a first DUI offense. At the
Law Offices of Jarrod M. Wilfert, our
Ventura DUI lawyers have the resources to defend your case. We can represent you during this
hearing and protect your privilege to drive!
You Only Have 10 Days to Obtain Our Help!
Administrative DMV hearings in California are separate from criminal court
proceedings that will determine your guilt. The purpose of this hearing
is to address your driving privileges and determine whether your driver’s
license should be suspended. At a DMV hearing, you maintain specific rights
that must be protected. You are entitled to the following:
- challenge the evidence against you
- cross-examine witnesses
- testify on your own behalf
- and subpoena witnesses.
You only have 10 days from the date of your arrest to request a DMV hearing,
and therefore, immediate action should be taken. You will not be permitted
to fight the suspension after this time frame.
Need a Lawyer for a DMV Hearing in Ventura?
Another right you hold when fighting your driver’s license suspension
is to be represented by an experienced
criminal defense attorney in Ventura County. At the Law Offices of Jarrod M. Wilfert, we can represent your case and
help you fight the driver’s license suspension. We have an edge
against the DMV and a unique advantage because of our previous experiences.
The DMV hearing officer will have to ensure the following:
- The arresting officer had probable cause that you were driving under the influence
- The police officer placed you under arrest in a lawful manner
- You had a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of 0.08% or higher
You can also have your driver’s license suspended for refusing to
submit to a chemical DUI test. If that is the case, certain factors need
to be considered for the license restriction to be lawful. For aggressive
and knowledgeable defense with your DMV hearing,
contact our Ventura DUI attorneys today!