Sexual Assault in Southern California
(805) 994-0560 for Experienced & Skilled Legal Representation in Ventura County
California’s sexual assault, or sexual battery, laws prohibit unwanted
touching of another individual’s intimate parts, such as the victim’s
sexual organ, anus, buttocks, groin, or breast. When sexual assault results
in nonconsensual intercourse with the victim, the illegal act is considered
sex crimes are often pursued aggressively by the prosecution and the courts, while
allegations alone can have a negative impact on the defendant’s
personal and professional life.
The Law Offices of Jarrod M. Wilfert, we are ready to offer legal guidance to effectively protect your rights
against prosecution. As a former prosecutor and former police officer, our
Ventura criminal defense attorney has a thorough understanding of state legal procedures and criminal investigations,
giving you an advantage in the courtroom.
Sexual Assault Laws & Penalties
In order to prove a sexual battery case, the prosecution must demonstrate
the following elements:
- The defendant touched (directly or through clothing) the victim’s
intimate parts while the victim was restrained by the defendant or another
- The victim did not express consent to the touching.
- The defendant had the intention to engage in the unconsented touching for
the purpose of sexual arousal, sexual gratification, or sexual abuse.
Sexual assault or sexual battery is considered a misdemeanor or a felony,
depending on the circumstances of the case. A misdemeanor conviction is
punishable by a jail sentence of up to six months and a maximum fine of
$2,000. If the defendant was the victim’s employer, however, the
fine can increase to $3,000.
A felony conviction can result in a maximum jail sentence of one year and
a fine of up to $2,000. However, it can also result in a prison sentence
of two, three, or four years and a fine of up to $10,000.
When it comes to rape, it is punishable by a prison sentence of three,
six, or eight years. The sentence could increase if the victim is over
14 years old, the victim is under 14 years old, or the defendant acted
in concert with another individual to rape the victim.
Our Ventura Criminal Defense Attorney is Ready to Start Your Case
If you were recently arrested and charged with sexual assault, not only
do you potentially face significant time in jail or prison and expensive
fines, but also registration as a sex offender for the rest of your life.
With more than a decade of experience, our Ventura criminal lawyer has
handled hundreds of cases successfully. Do not risk going to court without
experienced and skilled legal representation on your side.
Contact us and schedule a
free consultation today.