Now that it is almost the end of 2018, the California Highway Patrol is bringing awareness to the new laws approved by the California Legislature this year. From helmet use to hit-and-runs, there are several new traffic laws which take effect in 2019.
The following are some of the new laws the CHP is highlighting this New Year:
- AB 1755 – Not only are drivers of motor vehicles subject to felony hit-and-run charges but also cyclists on Class I bike paths. According to current law, a motorist involved in an accident which resulted in an injury or death must stop at the scene.
- AB 3077 – If an individual is under 18 years of age and fails to wear a helmet while riding a bicycle, skateboard, scooter, or skates will be given a “fix-it” ticket. However, minors who violate the law can avoid the penalty by taking an educational course regarding helmet safety within 120 days of receiving the ticket.
- AB 2989 – Individuals who are 18 years of age or older are not required to wear a bicycle helmet while riding on a motorized scooter, which can be operated on Class II and IV bikeways, as well as on roads with a 25 mph speed limit. Only local jurisdictions could decide if motorized scooters can use roads with speed limits of up to 35 mph. It is still against the law to ride a motorized scooter on the sidewalk.
- AB 2115 – If the amber lights are flashing on a refuse collection vehicle, drivers must now move over to the adjacent lane in order to pass the vehicle safely. If this cannot be done, motorists must slow down. This law is supposed to provide safety for sanitation workers on the road.
- AB 1824 – A motorists who drive with a modified or excessively loud exhaust or muffler system can be subject to a mandatory fine. Before the passing of this law, drivers and motorcyclists were allowed to take corrective actions to avoid the fine.