Criminal Defense in Ventura County
California Ignition Interlock Device Program Expands

California Ignition Interlock Device Program Expands

Effective as of January 1, 2019, SB 1046 requires repeat DUI offenders in California to install an ignition interlock device (IID) into each vehicle they operate.

Additionally, the law gives first-time offenders an alternative to driver’s license suspension.

State lawmakers believe IIDs prevent drunk drivers from getting behind the wheel, thus making the roads much safer. SB 1046 also ensures DUI offenders can maintain driving privileges to keep working, going to treatment, as well as dropping off and picking up their kids from school.

Depending on the DUI offense, the length of time a driver must have an IID installed includes the following:

  • First-time DUI conviction – A person can either install an IID for six months with full driving privileges or a one-year restricted driver’s license (for work and treatment purposes) without an IID. However, if the DUI offense involves an injury, a person must have an IID installed for up to one year.
  • Second-time DUI conviction – A person must install an IID for one year.
  • Third-time DUI conviction – A person must install an IID for two years.
  • Fourth or subsequent DUI conviction – A person must install an IID for three years.

On average, an IID costs up to $150 to install and up to $80 monthly to maintain. The new law helps low-income individuals reduce the monthly cost to $10.

For those who are charged with a DUI involving drugs, the new law doesn’t apply because IIDs only measure a person’s blood alcohol content, rather than the drugs in a person’s system.

For more information about IIDs in Ventura County, contact Wilfert Law P.C. today at (805) 994-0560 and request a free consultation.

Categories: