Since recreational use of cannabis in California became legal in 2016, adults who are 21 years of age can purchase, possess, and consume marijuana without facing criminal penalties.
However, possessing or using marijuana in or within 1,000 feet of a “drug-free zone” can lead to harsh consequences.
The following are drug-free locations in California:
- K-12 schools (elementary, middle, and high school)
- College and university campuses
- Daycare centers
- Youth centers
- Swimming pools
If an adult who is at least 18 years old violates the state's drug-free zone laws, he/she will be charged with a misdemeanor, punishable by a maximum $250 fine for a first offense. If a minor who is under 18 years of age violates the law, he/she will be charged with an infraction, which carries mandatory drug counseling.
In addition to criminal penalties, students who violate California's drug-free zone laws can suffer academic repercussions. For example, high school and college students who violate campus drug policies can either be sentenced to academic probation, suspended for a certain period of time, or expelled from campus.
If you have been charged with violating the drug-free zone laws in Ventura County, contact Wilfert Law P.C. today at (805) 994-0560 and request a free case review.