Since the new year and a new decade is right around the corner, there are many new laws in California that will take effect starting January 1, 2020. Some of these new state laws dealing with criminal matters.
The following are the new state criminal justice laws taking effect in 2020:
- Gun violence restraining orders (AB 12) – Along with immediate family members and law enforcement officials, employers, fellow employees, and teachers may petition a judge to confiscate a suspected violent person's weapon. This law goes into effect on September 1.
- Childhood sexual assault statute of limitations (AB 218) – Starting on January 1, child sex abuse victims of all ages can pursue criminal prosecution. Additionally, victims can file a civil lawsuit up until they turn 40 years of age or within five years from the time the psychological injury/illness from abuse was discovered. Previously, the time limit was until they turn 26 years old or within three years from the time the psychological injury/illness from abuse was discovered.
- Domestic violence statute of limitations (SB 273) – Applying to domestic violence cases on or after January 1, the new law extends the time limit to report such incidents to the police to five years, as opposed to one year under the previous law.
- Age limit to enter juvenile hall (SB 439) – If a minor who is 12 years of age commits a crime in California, they can be sent to juvenile hall. Minors under 12 years old would be released under parental or guardian supervision. However, if a minor commits rape, great bodily harm, or murder, the law doesn't apply.
If you have been charged with a crime in Ventura, contact Wilfert Law P.C. today at (805) 994-0560 to schedule a free consultation with our legal team to discuss your legal options.