Criminal Defense in Ventura County
Featured Article
When Can a Judge Deny Bail?
When Can a Judge Deny Bail?

A bail hearing is a judicial process by which a court determines whether to release a defendant from jail while he or she awaits trial. At the hearing, a judge can either release the defendant on his/her own recognizance, require him/her to post bail, release him/her on ...

Read More

Blog posts in Criminal Defense

  • What is a Pretrial Diversion Program?

    Getting arrested for the first time in your life is a confusing, stressful, and frightening experience. A conviction can not only lead to serious ...

    View More
  • Arson & California Wildfires

    The 2019 wildfire season in California kicked off in October as the Santa Ana winds surged throughout the state. The strong gusts mixed with the hot ...

    View More
  • Can I Fly Out of LAX with Marijuana?

    As of January 2018, it is legal to possess and consume recreational marijuana in California. However, you may be wondering if it is legal to travel ...

    View More
  • Can I Go to Jail for Missing Jury Duty in California?

    Once an American citizen living in California turns 18 years old, he/she becomes eligible for jury duty once every 12 months. While receiving a notice ...

    View More
  • Governor Newson Signs 25 Criminal Justice Reform Bills

    On October 8, 2019, California Governor Gavin Newson signed more than two dozen criminal justice bills into law. The measures distance the state from ...

    View More
  • Not Helping a Police Officer is No Longer a Crime in CA

    According to the California Posse Comitatus Act of 1872, a person at least 18 years of age will be charged with a misdemeanor if he/she refuses a ...

    View More
  • Can the Victim Drop Domestic Violence Charges in CA?

    When a heated argument between spouses, unmarried couples, or relatives turn into a physical altercation and law enforcement gets involved, the ...

    View More
  • Governor Newsom Signs Law to Deter Police Shootings in CA

    On August 19, 2019, California Gov. Gavin Newsom signed AB 392 into law, aiming to deter police shootings in the state. The new law will take effect ...

    View More
  • Will the California Boat Fire Lead to Criminal Charges?

    On September 2, 2019, a fire broke out on the vessel called “the “Conception” directly off Santa Cruz Island in Santa Barbara County, killing 34 ...

    View More