Criminal Defense in Ventura County
Featured Article
Can I Go to Jail for Missing Jury Duty in California?
Can I Go to Jail for Missing Jury Duty in California?

Once an American citizen living in California turns 18 years old, he/she becomes eligible for jury duty once every 12 months. While receiving a notice in the mail doesn’t mean you will automatically serve as a juror in a criminal or civil case, it does mean you have an ...

Read More

Blog posts in Criminal Offenses

  • Not Helping a Police Officer is No Longer a Crime in CA

    According to the California Posse Comitatus Act of 1872, a person at least 18 years of age will be charged with a misdemeanor if he/she refuses a ...

    View More
  • Governor Newsom Signs Law to Deter Police Shootings in CA

    On August 19, 2019, California Gov. Gavin Newsom signed AB 392 into law, aiming to deter police shootings in the state. The new law will take effect ...

    View More
  • Will the California Boat Fire Lead to Criminal Charges?

    On September 2, 2019, a fire broke out on the vessel called “the “Conception” directly off Santa Cruz Island in Santa Barbara County, killing 34 ...

    View More
  • SB233 Protects Sex Workers from Arrest

    On July 30, 2019, Governor Gavin Newsom signed SB233 into law, protecting sex workers from arrest if they either report serious criminal offenses or ...

    View More
  • Arrested in Ventura County While on Vacation?

    From the beautiful beaches and ideal weather conditions to the county fair and downtown, there are many fun things to do in Ventura County during the ...

    View More
  • What Would Happen If You Did Raid Area 51?

    Last week, more than a million people RSVP’d to a viral Facebook event, calling on users to raid Area 51 on September 20, 2019. Located in Nevada, the ...

    View More
  • How Juror Misconduct Can Affect a Criminal Case

    A jury consists of a group of impartial citizens who have reviewed the evidence presented in a case in order to unanimously declare if a defendant is ...

    View More
  • Statute of Limitations for a California Hit & Run

    According to California Assembly Bill 184, the statute of limitations (SOL) is the maximum amount of time a prosecutor can file criminal charges. ...

    View More
  • Vandalism Laws in California

    Although writing graffiti on a wall or smashing someone’s mailbox with a baseball bat seems like fun for teenagers and young adults, malicious ...

    View More