Criminal Defense in Ventura County
Featured Article
SB233 Protects Sex Workers from Arrest
SB233 Protects Sex Workers from Arrest

On July 30, 2019, Governor Gavin Newsom signed SB233 into law, protecting sex workers from arrest if they either report serious criminal offenses or are caught carrying condoms. This new legislation will take effect on January 2020. SB233 protects such workers from getting ...

Read More

Blog posts in Sexual Assault

  • What is the Age of Consent in California?

    The minimum age at which a person is considered legally old enough to consent to sexual activity in California is 18 years of age. This means minors ...

    View More
  • What Crimes Can Result in Deportation?

    Not only can a criminal conviction result in a jail/prison sentence, fines, and a permanent criminal record, but it can also lead to deportation if ...

    View More
  • I've Been Accused of a Sex Crime! What Should I Do?

    Although our country’s legal system presumes each person is innocent until proven guilty, false allegations can still have a negative impact on your ...

    View More
  • What Happens If You Fail to Register as a CA Sex Offender?

    According to California’s Sex Offender Registration Act--also called Megan’s Law-- sex crime convicts are required to register with law enforcement of ...

    View More
  • How Long Will I Have to Register as a Sex Offender in California?

    According to California law, individuals convicted of certain sex crimes are required to register as sex offenders with a local law enforcement ...

    View More
  • Can Sexual Assault Victims Sue?

    Not only are incidents of sexual assault handled through the criminal justice system, there are several ways in which the victims can also recover ...

    View More
  • Survey Suggests Steep Rise is Campus Sex Crimes

    According to a report by the American Institutes for Research, indicate that while crimes on campus have decreased 34 percent in the last twelve ...

    View More