The California Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) rates driving records using a points system. Each licensed driver starts out with a clean record that has no points.
Adding points to your driver's license are the result of committing traffic violations. Additionally, you can also receive points for failing to fix mechanical issues with your vehicle.
Common examples of traffic violations worth one point include:
- Running a red light or stop sign
- Making an unsafe lane change
- Being at fault in a car accident
- Receiving an out-of-state traffic ticket
Common examples of traffic violations worth two points include:
- Driving over 100 mph
- Reckless driving
- Driving with a suspended or revoked license
If you receive four points in one year, six points in two years, or eight points in three years, your California driver's license will be suspended for up to six months due to negligent operation of your vehicle. Driving with a suspended or revoked license is a misdemeanor, punishable by a maximum six-month jail sentence and a fine no more than $1,000.
Not only do points on your driver's license result in suspension, but they also significantly increase your auto insurance premiums. The more points you have, the higher your rates—even to the point where you may have trouble finding an insurer to cover you.
If you have been arrested for a DUI in Ventura County or risk losing your driver's license, call (805) 994-0560 to schedule a free consultation with Wilfert Law P.C. today.