According to CA Penal Code 192(c), vehicular manslaughter occurs when a negligent driver kills someone by committing:
- An unlawful act that is not a felony (such as a traffic violation) OR
- A lawful act that may cause death
Drivers who accidentally kill someone while they are under the influence or drugs or alcohol will be charged under California Penal Code § 191.5.
What are the penalties for vehicular manslaughter?
In California, you can receive imprisonment in jail or in state prison for up to 1 year. If you committed gross vehicular manslaughter, however, you may be imprisoned for up to 6 years!
Vehicular manslaughter is the most serious offense related to charges of driving under the influence (DUI). If there is reason to believe that the drunk driver knew that his or her actions could result in the loss of another's life, they can be charged with gross vehicular manslaughter.
To prove gross vehicular manslaughter, certain facts, such as speeding or ignoring the advice of others, must be present. Whether you have been charged with vehicular manslaughter or gross vehicular manslaughter for your offense, you need the legal assistance of our criminal defense lawyers.
Schedule Your Free Consultation!
Vehicular manslaughter is a serious offense that must be properly defended by a strong and knowledgeable attorney from our firm. You may have your license suspended or revoked if you are convicted of DUI-related vehicular manslaughter. We can thoroughly discuss your case and options for defense during a free consultation.
This is a serious life-altering offense, so take action today! Do not risk being convicted of manslaughter based on the presumption of a conscious disregard for others' lives.