In the wake of recent massacres involving firearms in the United States, California lawmakers sent several bills to Gov. Jerry Brown's office that would limit access to guns to specific individuals. The state has one of the strictest firearms laws in the nation.
One bill calls for a lifetime ban on those with misdemeanor domestic violence convictions. Currently, there is only a 10-year probationary period.
AB 1968 calls for a lifetime ban on those who were placed on court-ordered involuntary psychiatric holds two times in one year. As of right now, the state currently has a five-year firearms ban for those ordered to psychiatric care due to being a risk of harming themselves and others.
SB 1100 raises the legal age of purchasing a rifle or shotgun from 18 years old to age 21. According to the California Chapters of the Brady Campaign to Prevent Gun Violence to Prevent Gun Violence, individuals between ages 18 and 21 disproportionately commit more murders involving guns and use firearms in suicides.
The last bill would require state residents who are interested in getting a concealed firearm permit to undergo at least eight hours of instruction and pass a live-fire test before obtaining such a permit. When it comes to the amount of instruction applicants are required to have prior to being eligible for a conceal-carry permit, there is no minimum standard for the time being.
California already has one of the strictest firearms laws in the nation.