Obtain Legal Services from Our Ventura DUI Attorney
While being arrested and charged with a DUI in California is serious enough, you may face harsher penalties if a minor child in the car. If you are confronted with a conviction for DUI and child endangerment, it is important to seek legal representation from an experienced and skilled lawyer.
At Wilfert Law, PC, we are committed to protecting the rights, reputations, and freedoms of our clients who are facing a variety of DUI convictions. With more than a decade of experience, our Ventura DUI lawyers possess a thorough understanding of California laws and court proceedings to help you determine your legal options toward the most favorable outcome.
DUI & Child Endangerment Penalties
In California, if you are arrested for driving under the influence of alcohol/drugs and you have a child passenger in the car under 14 years old, you will be arrested for DUI and child endangerment. However, you may be facing a DUI conviction with a penalty enhancement, DUI and child endangerment convictions as separate charges, or DUI with a penalty enhancement and child endangerment.
Misdemeanor child endangerment is punishable by a maximum jail sentence of one year and fines up to $1,000. Felony child endangerment is punishable by a prison sentence from two to six years and fines up to $10,000.
The following are the sentence enhancements for a DUI with a minor in the vehicle:
- First offense – a minimum 48 hours of incarceration
- Second offense – an additional 10 days of incarceration
- Third offense – an additional 30 days of incarceration
- Fourth offense – an additional 90 days of incarceration
Let Us Build Your Defense Today
Our Ventura DUI lawyers understand what it takes to get your charges reduced, or your case dismissed entirely. As a former prosecutor, our senior partner knows how the prosecution will approach your case, which gives you a huge advantage in court. Do not hesitate to get the help you need to get your life back on track.