Our Former Prosecutors Know the Law
If you were arrested for driving under the influence (DUI) of drugs or alcohol in California, you will most likely receive a misdemeanor charge. Even as a misdemeanor, however, a DUI conviction can alter your life and forcibly change your goals.
Obtain the information and representation you need by talking with one of our Ventura DUI lawyers. At Wilfert Law, PC, our team includes a former Ventura County DUI prosecutor and former police officers. We understand the laws and defenses associated with your case and can protect your freedom from the start.
Legal Defense from Our Ventura DUI Lawyers
Even for a misdemeanor DUI, you face the potentially severe penalties prescribed by the judge. Even a first-time misdemeanor DUI offender can face up to $1,000 in fines.
To determine the severity of your case, the court assesses many factors, including:
- Severity of the case
- Circumstances of arrest
- Prior criminal history
- Injury / deaths involved
- Blood alcohol content (BAC) level
According to California state law, drivers are considered impaired when their BAC level is 0.08% or higher. Sobriety tests can assess the offender's level of intoxication to determine whether they can properly and safely operate a motor vehicle. Lack of bodily injury / death as a result of your intoxication is a contributing factor to a misdemeanor charge whereas a felony charge typically applies to a case that involves injury or fatality.
Looking for an Attorney for a DUI case in Ventura?
Even though the charge for a misdemeanor DUI is less severe than for a felony DUI, you still need legal attention from our firm to defend your case. California Vehicle Code § 23152 explains misdemeanor DUI charges and the penalties that can result. If you were charged with a misdemeanor DUI in California, we suggest taking action at once. You only have 10 days from the date of your arrest to request an administrative hearing from the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) in order to try to retain your driving privileges.