Criminal Defense in Ventura County
Protecting Your Rights

Fill out the form below to start your free consultation today.

  • Please enter your name.
  • This isn't a valid email address.
    Please enter your email address.
  • This isn't a valid phone number.
    Please enter your phone number.
    You entered an invalid number.
  • Please enter a message.
    Please select an option.
Sex Crime Charges in California

Statutory Rape in Ventura County

Let Our Ventura Criminal Defense Lawyer Fight Tirelessly for You

In California, it is against the law for an adult (a person who is 18 years of age or older) to have sex with a minor (a person younger than 18), despite the fact it is consensual. The statutory rape laws are premised on the assumption that a minor is not capable of providing informed consent to sex. If you have been arrested for or accused of statutory rape, you need to get experienced legal counsel from a qualified lawyer.

Wilfert Law, P.C. is ready to build an effective and personalized defense strategy on your behalf. With more than a decade of experience, our Ventura criminal defense attorney can thoroughly review your and determine all of your available legal options to obtain favorable results.

Statutory Rape Penalties

Statutory rape is prosecuted under California’s rape and sexual assault laws. This sex crime is considered a “wobbler” offense, meaning that it can be considered a misdemeanor or felony depending on the circumstances of the crime.

If the defendant is no more than three years older than the minor, then he or she will be charged with a misdemeanor. A misdemeanor is punishable by a maximum county jail sentence of one year and a fine of up to $1,000.

However, if the defendant is more than three years older, the prosecution can choose to either charge the defendant with either a misdemeanor or a felony. If charged as a felony, the defendant faces a county jail sentence of either 16 months, two years, or three years, as well as a maximum fine of $1,000.

If the defendant is 21 years of age or older and the victim is younger than 16 years old, the offense is a felony. This type of felony is punishable by a two, three, or four years in prison and a maximum fine of $10,000.

Call (805) 994-0560 to Schedule a Free Consultation

Our legal team can investigate your arrest, collect evidence, develop a strong defense strategy, as well as aggressively protect your rights and future. Do not hesitate to get experienced and skilled legal representation on your side.

Contact us and discuss your legal options today.

Hear From Real People

  • “Couldn’t ask for a better outcome of my case.”

    Tim

  • “I could not be more impressed with the level of communication his office showed every step of the way.”

    Nick

  • “He got my son home to us in time for Christmas. We will always be grateful.”

    Former Client

  • “Jarrod Wilfert is the most capable and hardworking attorneys in this county.”

    Former Client

  • “I will be eternally grateful for everything he has done for me.”

    Bill

Your case is in Experienced Hands

  • Experience

    Our Ventura legal team has unparalleled experience in criminal law.

  • Satisfaction

    Client satisfaction is our #1 priority. We pride ourselves on obtaining excellent results for our valued clients.

  • Free Consultation

    Take the first step to freedom with our free online case evaluation.

  • Law Enforcement Experience

    Each of our team members has been trained in police procedure and investigation.